Mobile uploading.

There is something to be said for the taking of a picture, returning to your workspace to process that picture, and then sharing it with friends and family as well as with other random people on the Internet,  should you feel so inclined. 

There is also something to be said for sharing a moment in real time as it is happening. Take the popular app Instagram, for example.  You can share photos edited with some basic (and sometimes silly) filters seconds after the moment you captured happened.  For roughly 75% of users, the “moment” they capture is the breakfast/lunch/dinner/cocktail they are about to consume.  It’s okay; people like food.

Both if these methods serve their respective purposes.

For example, I don’t take my nice camera everywhere I go.  Did I take it to Crater Lake?  Yes.  Did I take it to the bookstore with me this afternoon?  No.  I know, bookstores are great and there are plenty of things that I would like to photograph at Powell’s, but not during tourist season.  The place is packed and I feel in the way when that happens, even when I’m not luggung around a camera. 

So, I took this photo on my phone.  The lighting is good, I like the angle of the shot.  Do I need to edit this photo in Lightroom?  Probably not.  Does it give you a peek into my day?  Yes, it does. 

image

Both the slow develop-then-post process as well as the instant-share-everything process have their drawbacks and their advantages.  Think about your reason for the photo and act accordingly.  Just don’t show me what you’re having for lunch everyday.

